first science from juno


Description
Scientists from NASA’s Juno mission to Jupiter discussed their first in-depth science results in a media teleconference on May 25, 2017, at 2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PT, 1800 UTC), when multiple papers with early findings were published online by the journal Science and Geophysical Research Letters. The teleconference participants were: Diane Brown, program executive at NASA Headquarters in Washington Scott Bolton, Juno principal investigator at Southwest Research Institute in San Antonio Jack Connerney, deputy principal investigator at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland Heidi Becker, Juno radiation monitoring investigation lead at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California Candy Hansen, Juno co-investigator at the Planetary Science Institute in Tucson, Arizona Juno launched on Aug. 5, 2011, from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida, and arrived in orbit around Jupiter on July 4, 2016. In its current exploration mission, Juno soars low over the planet's cloud tops, as close as about 2,100 miles (3,400 kilometers). During these flybys, Juno probes beneath the obscuring cloud cover of Jupiter and studies its auroras to learn more about the planet's origins, structure, atmosphere and magnetosphere. For more information about the Juno mission, visit: https://nasa.gov/juno https://www.missionjuno.swri.edu/


View more videos by NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Related keywords:NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory JPL space exploration planets juno planet solar system science magnetosphere swri scott bolton news awesome discovery aurora telecon teleconference diane brown Jack Connerney Heidi Becker Candy Hansen mission


Digg StumbleUpon Del.icio.us Reddit Furl Mister Wong

Related Movies

What has NASA's Juno

Mission Juno - Great

Juno Snaps Close Pho

NASA Releases The Be

A Gorgeous Flyby of

"Hubble Deep Field"